Heterodox Academy is committed not only to measuring and analyzing the challenges institutions of higher learning face with regards to open inquiry, viewpoint diversity and constructive disagreement, but also to helping identify and facilitate pathways to overcoming those challenges.

The Open Inquiry Awards highlight some of the individuals, groups, and institutions who do exemplary work promoting open inquiry, viewpoint diversity, and constructive disagreement — providing models that others can learn from, be inspired by, and perhaps even emulate.

Recipients of the 2018 and 2019 Awards were nominated by members of HxA and independently reviewed by members of HxA’s Open Inquiry Awards Committee, who then developed a short list of up to three candidates for each category. The short lists were presented to HxA’s executive team, Advisory Committee and Board of Directors — all of whom then voted to select the winner for each award. Awardees are celebrated each year, and in the past have been honored at an awards dinner and HxA’s biennial conference.

HxA is reviewing member-submitted nominations for the 2020 Open Inquiry Awards. Award winners for 2020 will be announced in December.


Past Awardees: