NEW: "Extraordinary U: The HxA Model of Statement Neutrality"

When should university leaders "weigh in" on controversy? A principled approach.

Read the Brief.
Heterodox Academy

HxA Member

HxA Member Directory hero

Membership with Heterodox Academy is a meaningful commitment precisely because it is public. Heterodox Academy members are professors, educators, administrators, and staff who have embraced this statement: “I support open inquiry, viewpoint diversity, and constructive disagreement in research and education.”

This list includes faculty, administrators, and staff at higher education institutions. It does not include graduate or undergraduate student members. Members who have retired from academia may be listed with their current non-academic affiliation.

This list should not be used to identify people to email en masse for things like advertising an event, product, service, or calls for submissions. Heterodox Academy does not endorse the scholarship, research, or personal viewpoints of individual members. Individual member perspectives are not necessarily representative of the Heterodox Academy organization nor of other HxA members.

      • Scott Aaronson
        The University of Texas at AustinComputer Science
      • Jon Abbink
        Leiden UniversityAfrican Studies Center
      • Dorian Abbot
        University of ChicagoGeophysical Sciences
      • Russ Abbott
        California State University-Los AngelesComputer Science
      • Karen Abel
        University of LeedsDigital Education Service
      • Tom Abeles
        University of Louisville--
      • Peter Abramenko
        University of Virginia-CharlottesvilleMathematics
      • Michael D. Abramoff
        University of IowaOphthalmology and Visual Sciences
      • Jonathan Abramowitz
        University of North Carolina at Chapel HillPsychology and Neuroscience
      • Samuel Abrams
        Sarah Lawrence CollegeHistory & the Social Sciences
      • David Abrams
        New York UniversitySocial Behavioral Sciences
      • Les Abrams
        Hofstra UniversitySociology
      • Belinha De Abreu
        Sacred Heart UniversitySchool of Communication, Media & the Arts
      • Roger P. Abshire
        Texas State UniversityPolitical Science
      • Nasser Mohieddin Abukhdeir
        University of WaterlooChemical Engineering
      • Aybar Acar
        Middle East Technical UniversityGraduate School of Informatics
      • Susan Achziger
        Community College of AuroraEnglish
      • Daniel Acland
        University of California-BerkeleyPublic Policy
      HxA Member Directory eop cta
      Become a Member

      Join our community of faculty, staff, and students in our efforts to improve the quality of research and education in universities through viewpoint diversity, open inquiry, and constructive disagreement.

      Complimentary membership includes access to the new HxA Portal — a private online forum for HxA members and HxCommunities, invitations to members-only events, funding opportunities, professional development workshops, members-only discounts to HxA Summits, and more.

      This site use cookies.

      To better improve your site experience, we collect some data. To see what types of information we collect, read our Cookie Policy.